Maison Darlington

about

HISTORY

La maison Darlington has been around for quite a long time… To be exact, it is more than 200 years old. The house on Buade Street was built in 1775 and was owned by Mr. Calhoum. At that time, it was housing a shop specialized in military garbs whose major client was the British army.

In 1852, a descendant of the Calhoum family brought over from England a specialized tailor named John Darlington. On Feburary 1st 1872, this man bought the house and named it “John Darlington Registered”. During the next years, thanks to the renowned quality of his work and the fineness of the British imported woolens he was using, his business grew and became more and more diversified.

John Darlington died in 1905, at the age of 86 and his son William John Darlington inherited the house. As soon as 1912, William undertook major renovation works and took the opportunity to give the house a brand new vocation. From then on, it would specialize in Scottish imported woolens. When he died in 1945, the business came into the hand of his two sisters, Alice and Évelyne, and then passed on to his widow, Isa Drown, in 1949. She resumed her husband’s business until 1961 with the help of her associate, George Leslie Kennedy.

The business stayed in the Darlington family for nearly a century. However, it was sold in 1972, then again in 1978 and 1989. In 1987, the current owner bought the neighboring house La Bijouterie Routier, in order to enlarge the store and to offer his customers a wider range of fine imported products.

It is within this tradition of quality and good taste that we are proud today to continue to respond to the highest demands of our customers. La Maison Darlington has, more than ever, the desire to satisfy you and it is delighted to have you today as one of its faithful clients.


To Top

Maison Darlington


HISTOIRE

La maison Darlington ne date pas d’hier…

img_0043-2

John darlington (1819-1905)

Elle possède en effet plus de 200 ans d’histoire. Son édifice de la rue Buade, érigé en 1775 et alors propriété de monsieur Calhoum, hébergeait à l’origine un commerce spécialisé dans le vêtement militaire dont le principal client était l’armée britannique.

 

En 1852, un descendant de la famille Calhoum fait venir d’Angleterre un tailleur spécialisé du nom de John Darlington. Celui-ci deviendra, le 1er février 1872, nouveau propriétaire de la maison et lui donnera le nom de «John Darlington Registered». Au cours des années suivantes, grâce À la réputation de son travail et à la qualité des lainages d’importation britannique qu’il emploie, sa clientèle augmente et se diversifie de plus en plus.

img_0048

William John Darlington (1864-1945)

Le tailleur meurt en 1905 à l’âge de 86 ans, et lègue la maison à son fils William John Darlington. Dès 1912, celui-ci entreprend d’importantes rénovations au cours desquelles il en profite pour donner une toute nouvelle vocation à la maison : celle d’une spécialité de lainages d’Écosses. À sa mort, en 1945, le commerce passe aux mains de ses deux sœurs Alice et Évelyne puis à celles de sa veuve, Isa Drown, En 1949. Cette dernière reprend les activités de son mari, jusqu’En 1961, avec un associé du nom de George Leslie Kennedy.

L’entreprise familiale demeure ainsi la propriété des Darlington pendant près d’un siècle. Mais, elle est vendue en 1972, puis revendue en 1978 et 1989. Au cours de l’Année 1987, le propriétaire de l’époque achète l’immeuble voisin, La bijouterie Routier, afin d’augmenter la superficie du magasin et d’offrir à sa clientèle une gamme toujours plus intéressante de produits d’importation.

C’est dans cette tradition de qualité et de bon goût que nous sommes fiers encore aujourd’hui de répondre aux plus hautes exigences de notre clientèle. La Maison Darlington possède, plus que jamais, le désir de vous satisfaire et elle est heureuse aujourd’hui de vous compter parmi ses plus fidèles clients.

 

 

To Top